Pimbrook Software

4950: Prevent postings before a specified date in Sage 50 Accounts (Lock Date)

<< Home
<< Contact Us

Last Modified:
Author: Pimbrook Support

Prevent postings before a specified date in Sage 50 Accounts (Lock Date)

Sometimes you may want to stop transactions being posted before a certain date, for example, to close down a previous month or year. You can do this using the Lock Date feature.

How it works

Once you set a lock date, if anyone tries to post a transaction dated prior to that lock date, a warning message appears.

  • If you’re logged in as manager you can override the warning and post to the locked period.
  • Users with lock date access can also override the lock date and post to the locked period.
  • Users with no lock date access can’t post to the locked period. They can still create invoices, sales orders and purchase orders with a date before the lock date, but they can’t update or post the items.

Set a lock date

  1. On the menu bar click Settings then click Lock Date.
  2. Select the Lock posting before check box, enter the required date then click OK.

Set a user’s lock date access

  1. Open Sage Accounts and log in as Manager.
  2. On the menu bar click Settings then click Access Rights.
  3. Select the required user from the list then click Edit.
  4. Expand the Settings menu.
  5. To allow access to override the lock date, select the Lock date settings check box. Alternatively, to remove access, clear the check box.
  6. Click OK then click Close.

 


Still need help?

<< return to search